Junkerhaus

I was definitely having heart palpitations as Hannah Verlin and I approached Junkerhaus

IMG_20150416_120605920

in the small town of Lemgo in north central Germany. (Lemgo, by the way, is a completely under rated town. Why this picturesque, perfectly preserved renaissance town is barely mentioned or even completely omitted by guide books, I cannot understand.    IMG_1982     IMG_2186

IMG_2150   IMG_2133                       Lemgo’s streets are lined with  lovingly restored houses with carved and painted facades, the likes of which we didn’t encounter anywhere else. Should you find yourself near Hanover Germany, go a little out of your way to visit Lemgo!)                                            Seeing Junkerhaus in person had been a dream of mine since  I learned about it thirty years ago when I first started becoming passionate about outsider art. When Hannah asked me if I wanted to join her on her ossuary trip, I thought, Aha! This could be my chance to see Junkerhaus!  This eccentric environment is the creation of Karl Junker who constructed, carved, and painted every inch of his house inside and out nonstop for 23 years in late 1800’s, early 1900’s. He began his oeuvre by building a precise 1- 20 scale model of his visionary home and then proceeded with the basic construction of the three story house.                 IMG_2119                                                He had had earlier experience as a carpenter, and then went to art school in Munich where he learned to draw and paint. Junker abandoned all other pursuits once he began his obsessive house project.      IMG_20150416_113119316_HDR    IMG_20150416_110538898_HDR     IMG_2113                                                               I’m worried I might me overusing words like awesome, astounding, magnificent, on this trip of wonders, but have a look at these images and see if you don’t agree. IMG_2011                                              IMG_20150416_105528540       IMG_20150416_111746121        IMG_20150416_111738699        IMG_20150416_111713269      IMG_2035 IMG_2058                                                                                                                   To be so single minded, so sure of one’s vision, so unconcerned what the neighbors think, now that is awesome!       IMG_20150416_110129761_HDR

9 thoughts on “Junkerhaus

  1. Amazing!! I know you will have many more pictures of this place to share when you get back. be sure to bring your camera with you when you come up to Maine this week, assuming all your pictures will still be on there.

    Like

  2. You MUST schedule a “Brickbottom Speaks” talk with Ellen Band when you two return. It would be great to have you both elaborate even more about your trip. What an awesome house this is!

    Like

  3. watching *Howl’s Moving Castle* by Hayao Miyazaki for the millionth time, and now I wonder if Miyazaki saw Junkerhaus? The colors and textures and just the how-you-say…ambience.

    Like

  4. Jessica, I came across your blog because I’m the class notes editor at Andover magazine, and your classmate Julia Gibert mentioned it in an item about your ossuary tour. The entire blog is marvelous, but this post on Junkerhaus really takes the cake! (The cake in this instance being something like Miss Havisham’s wedding cake, perhaps.) I do hope you’ll do that talk at Brickbottom, as others have suggested. Or perhaps it’s already happened? Thank you, thank you, for sharing your amazing photos and adventures.

    Like

    • How great that you stumbled on my Blog, Jane! Do we not only have Andover but also Brickbottom in common?? And thank you for encouraging me to give a little talk–will see if I can get that together!

      Like

      • I can’t really claim any connection to Brickbottom, though I’ve known a few people over the years who’ve had studios there. But I love your work! (To the extent that I can see it on your website. Perhaps we’ll try to make it to the Boston Sculptors Gallery “34” show.) And I think my husband (a graphic designer and inveterate tinkerer) was ready to jump in the car and drive to Liberty, Maine, when I showed him the link to the Davistown Museum. Thank you for introducing me to that, too. I see we do have one other thing in common: Brown U. I was class of ’82.

        Like

Leave a Reply

